Hey! Hello there, and welcome to my quiet little corner. That isn’t my image up there, it came with the blog theme. It fit the post, so I’m keeping it. Grab a cup of coffee and let’s get to know each other.

This morning, I posted this on my personal Facebook page:

I am an ex-blogger, and ex-writer of online things. Sometimes informative, almost always humorous, and occasionally total crud but the thought had to get out of my head and it was MY blog and I could post what I wanted.

I am and EX-blogger because of the readers. I loved most of them. I formed friendships with them and we are STILL friends. It was the others, that made me grow to hate what I loved so much.

I was reminded of them today. I read a Mom-blog post about things to say when someone says “boy you have your hands full”. It was cute and a little funny. A nice, enjoyable, quick read on a Friday morning over coffee.

Then I read the comments. Oh my goodness people. See, it’s the comments that get me. You can’t win for losing. Even if you write the most bland, vague, non-offending, PC post you can SOMEONE will accuse you of being something your not, or they’ll complain that you wasted time writing a post about XYZ when you SHOULD have been doing ABC. Seriously?? If you don’t like it don’t read it. If you don’t like what the page posts, unfollow it.

Could it be that she just needed something to post, something light and fluffy, something she could get up quick because her blog is her business and it can’t go un-updated?? Why do you have to read so much into everything?

All these nasty comments from someone who probably stands in line at the grocery store and reads the gossip mags and thinks those articles are true and important. SMH

I wasn’t willing to compromise my art, my heart, or my funny bone, and I’m sad for the fine people out there, just trying to share with their target audience, who now have to live with the viciousness of other people who just can’t go read something else.

P.S. I miss writing.

A few heartfelt chats later, and I started to feel like I was letting the trolls win. So here we are, a new corner of the internet, where I will write and you, if you want to, can read.

There will, however, be rules. Okay, just one: be nice.

I will not apologize for who I am, for what I believe, or for how I manage my family and our lives.

I am a Christ follower, a homeschooler, a wife and a mother. I love that my husband and I chose for me to stay home with our kids. I love my husband. I love my children. I survive the chaos that is a big family, a small farm, homeschooling, and marriage with wit, wisdom, prayer, coffee and wine. If any part of the choices I have made for my life offend you, just hop up to the bar up top and go back to Google. There are plenty of other blogs in the sea.

Before you go, please know that I do not care if you believe differently, live differently, educate differently, cook differently, love differently, …. I will probably love you anyway. That’s how I roll. You do you, and I’ll do me. There is not one good reason why we can’t do that peaceably. I love respectful, educated, meaningful discussions. Please don’t think I want you to go just because we disagree. I don’t. Please stay. Share. Discuss.

But be nice. Our world so desperately needs nice.

Now, what you can expect to read about here? Hmmm…. I have no idea. Some days I’m all about getting my craft on. That could be sewing, yarn art, spinning, beading, painting, or anything else on sale at Michael’s. Some days I want to be a contestant on MasterChef and some days I want to be a speaker at the next Extraordinary Women’s conference. Sometimes I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy about my kids and sometimes I call my husband and ask him to bring home wine and duct tape. All I can promise is you will get me, just me – in all my random glory.

~Just Lisa  #oldschoolblogger

 

